15 Movies That Will Always Stick With You

Apparently, we all know that fifteen movies aren’t enough to list the one’s that will always stick with each one of us. But here’s my first 15 favourite movies that popped into my mind. Not in order–

1. Fight Club (1999)

Cast: Brad Pitt, Edward Norton

FightClub1999

For me, this is the most sickest 90’s movie I’ve ever seen. I mean, who doesn’t like this movie anyway? One of the greatest male-centric movie from the last millenium, totally twisted and violent. I’d say NOT FOR KIDS, but I actually watched it even before my puberty started. If you haven’t watched this movie and you’re a guy from the 90’s? You are probably losing half of your life!

2. St. Elmo’s Fire (1985)

Cast: Rob Lowe, Demi Moore, Andrew McCartney, Judd Nelson, Ally Sheedy, Emilio Estevez

StElmo'sFire1985

Yes, before The Breakfast Club, there’s St. Elmo’s Fire. This is one of the very good movies I’ve seen from the 80’s. The humour, the drama– Definitely one of the best coming-of-age movie you will ever see. And talking about the cast? Hell, nobody could get enough of the BRAT PACK!

3. Pretty In Pink (1986)

Cast: Molly Ringwald, Andrew McCartney, Jon Cryer

PrettyinPink1986

Another one of the John Huges’ epic movies ever made. I like everything about this movie– the fashion, the soundtrack, and the lines! Although the storyline is easily predicted as “A poor girl loves/d a rich boy” drama, the heavy pick-up lines killed the stereotype story of the movie. Definitely one of the movies I won’t get enough with!

4. My Girl (1991), My Girl 2 (1994)

Cast: Anna Chlumsky, Macaulay Culkin (Part 1), Dan Aykroyd (Part 2)

MyGirl1991MyGirl1994

A coming-of-age movie that tackles about kids and death. An ultimate tearjerker movie! Though the part 2 didn’t really killed it but it has still the giddy thrill “kilig” effect.

5. Can’t Buy Me Love (1987)

Cast: Patrick Dempsey, Amanda Peterson

Can'tBuyMeLove1987

Considered one of the teen comedy movies that shouldn’t work, but it does. Another typical “geek boy likes cheerleader girl and wants to be famous in school” storyline, but it is still fun, and silly movie to watch! FYI, if you have watched the 2003 movie Love Don’t Cost A Thing by Christina Milian and Nick Cannon? That movie was based on this screenplay.

6. The Crow (1994)

Cast: Brandon Lee, Ernie Hudson, Rochelle Davis, Michael Wincott

TheCrow1994

The most stunning and haunting movie ever made. Haunting, because as for everyone who have watched this movie, we all know that Brandon Lee was accidentally shot in a shooting scene that made his life end. I actually found out this movie when I watched a Bruce/Brandon Lee documentary on their deaths and how it has become a conspiracy to others. Well, when a real bullet kills the son of the most famous martial arts star of all time on a movie set, then you really have to wonder. Lol!

7. Into The Wild (2007)

Cast: Emile Hirsch, Marcia Gay Harden, William Hurt

IntoTheWild2007

Truly a favourite. This is a very beautiful movie for me. I admired Christopher (played by Emile Kirsch) for willing to leave everything and everyone behind to venture out and take life on the way he did. A must watch movie for everyone, trust me!

8. God of Gamblers (1989)

Cast: Chow Yun Fat, Andy Lau

GodofGamblers1989

Surprisingly, this is the first and nth Chinese movie I’ve seen while growing up, not a Bruce Lee nor Jackie Chan movie! I remember the first time watching this when my family still holds an every Saturday night get-together dinner and drinking session with our relatives when I was a kid. Even though I really didn’t understand the movie at first, I just literally copy my brothers and cousins reactions everytime they were in awe of Chow Yun Fat’s playing techniques! Funny how Chow Yun-Fat created an ultra cool character in this movie! A very funny movie!

9. Curse of the Golden Flower (2006)

Cast: Chow Yun Fat, Gong Li, Jay Chou

CurseofGoldenFlower2006

I actually watched this movie because of Jay Chou, my long-time favourite Mandopop singer. But while watching the movie, I find the storyline very interesting and turned out liking the movie itself, not because of having Jay Chou in the movie anymore! The movie is said the most expensive Chinese movie to date. Well, just looking at those grandiose sets, costumes and make-up designs, it surely does!

10. 人肉叉燒包 (1993)

Cast: Danny Lee, Anthony Wong

RenRouChaShaoBao1993

I’m not sure if this movie has an English title but ya’ll gotta see this crime-thriller movie! I won’t say much of this film as I want ya’ll watch it with no spoilers. Well, actually if you’re a Chinese and you haven’t seen this movie, you’ll be able to predict the story because of its title. Boo!

11. Harry Potter film series (2001-2011)

Cast: Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson

Okay, I know I’m being unfair with this but, all in all, it’s just one! Harry Potter, my baby. I’m not really into reading books but this shit brought me to. I was so addicted to Harry Potter books when I was in high school, and actually read it all. For me, the best adaption they did was the Prisoner of Azkaban. That was the closest they gave justice to Harry Potter books. TBH, despite all of the flaws in the movie series, they made it all worth waiting for from the Sorcerer’s Stone to Deathly Hallows. All hail to JK Rowling, U DA BEST!

12. Sex and the City (2008)

Cast: Sarah Jessica Parker, Kim Cattrall, Kristin Davis, Cynthia Nixon

Actually, before you can talk about the movie, you need to understand a little bit of the HBO series first. TBH, I never finished the whole series. I just watched the first few seasons only. I’m not sure if the movie itself is a need since it’s a long-running TV series on HBO, but it’s still nice and cool to see the glamour on the big screen. I really like the movie with all the glitz and the glam and the never ending love story of Carrie. This movie is actually the most times I’ve seen in my entire life, like once/twice a month? Not kidding. I feel like I’ve seen this movie close to a hundred times already!

13. Crossroads (2002)

Cast: Britney Spears, Zoe Saldana, Taryn Manning

It’s all because of my favourite singer of all time, Britney Spears. Her acting is not bad at all! I like the plot of the movie as well, it’s a comedy-drama road film where a group of friends reunited for a promise and sort of finding yourself as you grow up. It’s actually a coming-of-age drama.

14. Roman Holiday (1953)

Cast: Audrey Hepburn, Gregory Peck

The first and only classic movie I remembered while doing the list. It should be the 1955 movie, Seven Year Itch starred by Marilyn Monroe but I don’t know, it’s fine, it really does count anyway! I actually like this movie more than Breakfast at Tiffany’s because despite of them both a romantic-comedy film, this movie is more of an adventure-y-ish plot. I liked it more rather than a society it girl movie. Definitely one of the must watch movies of Audrey Hepburn!

15. Dahil Mahal Na Mahal Kita (1998)

Cast: Claudine Baretto, Rico Yan, Diether Ocampo

Last but not the least, this Claudine-Rico movie I will never ever ever get tired of watching. Yes, save the best Filipino movie for last! Mela (played by Claudine Baretto) reminds me so much of myself when I was in my freshmen-sophomore college years. And besides that, the movie is just great! The best Rico and Claudine movie I’ve seen. The love triangle just always kept me in a kilig mode. And having Diether in it, just surely tops the cake!

And there it is, the first 15 movies that will always stick with me. I wanna include more but sadly, that’s just it. It has a purpose why they made it only fifteen. Haha

Tagged by Anne Vitug

2 thoughts on “15 Movies That Will Always Stick With You

  1. Abby says:

    Hi abby peeler

Leave a comment